Skip to content

Date Night: The Truth about Parenthood

November 7, 2012

beauty and the beast with jasmine purse  2Date night sure ain’t what it used to be!  Even with careful planning, it’s all in the execution.   You see – once you have kids, don’t believe it until you see it.

Dear & I planned a great evening out at the NAC – box tickets to Beauty & The Beast on Broadway, sitter for the kids, the whole shebang.  We both love musicals and the last one we’d seen together we were in high school.  Little did I know my hot date would be spent with my 6 year old.

Why?

Funny you should ask!  Most recently my ex and his wife suffered a terrible loss and my daughter was pretty upset over what happened.  We decided to give J-F’s ticket to Jasmine as a special ‘mommy-daughter-date-night’ surprise.

That’s right folks!  My hot date was with my 6 year old.

Don’t get me wrong – we had a great time!  The NAC is a wonderful place for date nights and mommy-daughter events alike.  They have a fantastic array of options from the ballet and classic theater (French and English) to variety events and children’s productions.  There were many little girls dressed up as Belle (pregnancy-brain: I never even thought of that!) and we bought souvenirs.  The best part?  We had a terrific view from our box seats and we managed to stay comfortable for the whole production.

So date night isn’t quite what it used to be, but whether with my spouse or my kids, the NAC is a great option.  You should check it out!

beauty and the beast with jasmine

Leave a Reply

